Skip to main navigation.

2019 Election information

All three St. Croix Electric Cooperative Director incumbents whose terms are up in 2019 are running unopposed on the ballot, but there is once again a race in District 8 to fill out the term vacated by Derrick Oberle, who was elected to his fourth term in 2018.
In District 8, which includes the eastern edge of SCEC’s service territory, Town of Cady (Wilson) resident Douglas Faber, who challenged Oberle last year, will appear on the ballot along with Joe Draxler of the Town of Glenwood. Directors’ terms are three years, so the new District 8 Director will serve only a two-year term this time around, with the seat being back up for election in 2021, when Oberle’s term would have expired.
District 1 incumbent Neil Plourde of Somerset (CEO of Rivard Stone) was first elected in 2013 and ran unopposed in 2016. District 1 includes the Town of Somerset and the western two-thirds (approximately) of the Town of Richmond.
Paul Nyhus of Roberts (Town of Hammond) was first elected District 4 Director in 2010 when then-incumbent Ken Peterson did not seek re-election. Although he ran unopposed on the 2016 ballot, Nyhus faced three challengers in the 2013 election. District 4 includes the Town of Hammond, most of the Town of Warren (excluding the southwest corner) and the southeast corner of the Town of Richmond.
Fran Klatt of Emerald has represented District 7 since 1976. He has overcome several election challengers throughout his 14 terms on the board but ran unchallenged in the 2016 election. District 7 includes the Towns of Emerald, Cylon, Stanton, Erin Prairie and the northeast corner of Richmond.
Annually, a committee of St. Croix Electric Cooperative members – three from each district up for election – is charged with the task of seeking and confirming candidates for that year’s director election. The 2019 Nominating Committee first met on Feb. 5 and spent the next three weeks reaching out to potential candidates. 
On Feb. 26, the Nominating Committee confirmed the 2019 candidate slate. SCEC members also have the opportunity to become a candidate via petition, but no member expressed interest by the March 5 deadline. 
The interest by members in the directorship position changes from year to year and district to district. Last year the Nominating Committee advanced the names of four members, creating a race in only one district (as noted above).
In the last week of March more than 4,200 members in Districts 1, 4, 7 and 8 will receive ballots to cast their votes for the individual they wish to represent their district on the Board of Directors. Candidate statements will be published with the ballots for members to review. The statements will also be published online at 
Even if there is only one candidate per district, members still need to cast their vote and return it WITH A SIGNATURE in the upper-left corner of the postage-paid envelope provided. 
Ballots must be received at St. Croix Electric Cooperative no later than 4:30 p.m. on Friday, April 12. The ballots will be tallied by members during the 82nd Annual Meeting of Members on Saturday, April 13 at St. Croix Central High School in Hammond and official results will be announced at the end of the meeting. 

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo